Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly (IE)


Prior to the establishment of the Eastern and Midland Regional Assembly on 1st January 2015, the three previous Regional Authorities within Eastern and Midland Region produced individual Regional Planning Guidelines (RPG’s).

These planning guidelines set out a strategic planning framework for their respective three areas and will remain in force until at least 2016.

The implementation of the RPGs are an integral part of the Government’s programme to enable Ireland’s planning system to play an important role in the national economic recovery by delivering a plan-led planning system where spatial plans are aligned to benefit the economy, environment and provide for an improved quality of life.

This process has sought to prioritise future infrastructural investment at a regional and local level, whilst promoting the growth of designated settlements.

It is proposed that the (RPG’s) will be replaced by a Regional Spatial & Economic Strategy for the region.

“The objective of regional spatial and economic strategies shall be to support the implementation of the National Spatial Strategy and the economic policies and objectives of the Government by providing a long-term strategic planning and economic framework for the development of the region for which the strategies are prepared which shall be consistent with the National Spatial Strategy and the economic policies or objectives of the Government.” (sec23 Planning and Development Act 2000)

The Eastern and Midland Regional Assembly, has twelve constituent local authorities split into three Strategic Planning Areas as follows:

Dublin Fingal, Dublin City, South Dublin, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown
Eastern Louth, Kildare, Meath, Wicklow
Midlands Longford, Laois, Offaly, Westmeath


Note: Louth is located in the Border NUTS III area but is now moving to the Eastern and Midland assembly region from the former BMW region.

Source: https://emra.ie/regional-spatial-and-economic-strategies-2/overview/


IE Map The Eastern and Midland Regional Assembly is one of the three Regional Assemblies in Ireland (others: Southern Regional Assembly and Northern & Western Regional Assembly). Administrative level: NUTS 2. Regional Assembly’s statutory functions policy competences: 1) EU liaison at regional and local level; and 2) Regional Socio-Economic and Spatial Planning. Both competences imply a high degree of coordination with national policy, local plans, and a wide range of stakeholders, such as business networks and communities.

  1. The opportunity to clearly set up a robust monitoring framework that is aligned to a Supranational (EU) monitoring framework to assess progress in the implementation of our Regional Spatial and Economic Strategy, and Regional Operational Programmes.
  2. The need to move beyond traditional measures of material living conditions, given increasing expectations from our stakeholders (councillors and general public) to measure and increase quality of life and well-being.
  3. To increase our institutional capacity to respond in a quickly, agile effective fashion to emerging challenges, for example housing which is currently a concern in Ireland.
  4. As part of a “community of practice” in regional development, to share our experience in policy making on the ground, learn from other pilot regions, and tap into expertise within the consortia.
  5. To focus on ‘what matters’ to our citizens, hence keeping an eye on meaningful information.
  6. To strengthen our collaboration and cooperation with our EU continental partners in light of BREXIT.
  7. To deal with the mismatch between official reporting of regional statistics at EU level and the up-to-date regional configuration in Ireland. Currently EUROSTAT reports pre-2016 with 2 NUTS 2 regions: BMW and SE. However, on the ground, since 2016 (entry into force in 2018) there are three Irish regions: EMRA, SRA and NWRA.