Bratislava Region (SK)


The Bratislava Region is one of the administrative regions of Slovakia. Its capital is Bratislava. It is the smallest of the eight regions of Slovakia. It is located in the south-western part of Slovakia and has an area of 2,053 km² and a population of 603,699 (2005). The region has a dual nature - the Little Carpathians starting in Bratislava and going steadily north-east separating two lowlands, the Záhorie lowland in the west and the fertile Danubian Lowland in the east, which grows mainly wheat and maize. Major rivers in the region are the Morava River, the Danube and the Little Danube, the latter with the Danube encircling the Žitný ostrov in the south-east. There are three protected landscape areas within the territory of the region: the Little Carpathians, Záhorie and Dunajské luhy. The region borders Trnava Region in the north and east, Győr-Moson-Sopron county in Hungary in the south, Burgenland in Austria in the south-west and Lower Austria in the west.



The first known permanent settlement of the area of today's Bratislava began with the Linear Pottery Culture, around 5000 BC in the Neolithic era. Around 200 BC, the Celtic Boii tribe established an oppidum on the place of today's Bratislava Castle The Romans established their camp Gerulata on the right bank of the Danube in the 1st century and remained there until the 4th century. The area was part of the Principality of Nitra and later of the Great Moravia in the 9th century. From the 10th century onwards, it became part of the Principality of Hungary (later called Kingdom of Hungary) and almost wholly became part of the Pozsony county (with the exception of three villages south of Bratislava which were part of the Moson county). After break-up of Austria-Hungary in 1918, the county continued to exist in Czechoslovakia, but was abolished in 1928 and replaced with a new territorial unit called "Slovak Land". During the WWII Slovak Republic the Bratislava county was restored, albeit with somewhat modified borders. After restoration of Czechoslovakia, the pre-breakup state was restored. In 1949-1960 a unit named Bratislava Region used to exist, but was replaced in 1960 with the Western Slovak Region (except from 1 July 1969 to 28 December 1970; Bratislava was partly separate from 1968, and since 1971 was a separate region). After abolition of the regions in 1990, the current system was introduced in 1996. After the administrative regions became autonomous in 2002, it is governed by the Bratislava Self-Governing Region.



Despite being the smallest region of Slovakia, it isn't the least populated. The largest city is Bratislava (425,459) and the second-largest is Pezinok (21,334). The region has a high level of urbanization (83.2%). According to the 2001 census, there were 599,015 inhabitants in the region, with most of them being Slovaks (91.2%), with a minority of Hungarians (4.6%) and Czechs (1.6%).



Slovakia is divided into 8 regions (higher territorial units), 79 districts and 2883 municipalities. The Bratislava Region, located in the south-western part of the country, is one of the administrative regions of Slovakia. With area of 2,053 km² (4,19% of the area of Slovakia), the Bratislava Region is the smallest of the eight Slovak regions. The population of the region is 641 892 inhabitants. The Bratislava Region comprises of 73 municipalities and 7 towns (including the capital city of Bratislava).

The Bratislava Region is currently classified by Eurostat as the 6th most developed region of the EU based on GDP per capita (in purchasing power parity), which is at the level of 53 700 EUR (184% of the EU average).

Tasks and responsibilities of the Bratislava Region:

  • Transport - the region has 511 km of second- and third-class roads under its management
  • Education - it is responsible for 57 schools in the Bratislava Region
  • Regional development - it coordinates regional development and the preparation of strategic documents
  • Health care - the region operates one 2 general clinics and one hospital
  • Social services - the region operates 15 social service establishment and finances another 16 non-public providers and 25 non-state subjects
  • Culture and tourism - the region operates 7 cultural establishments and the Regional Tourist Board
  • application of the SPI in ESIF implementation at regional level
  • application of the SPI in strategic planning and policy-making at regional level
  • elaboration on the “beyond GDP” initiative
  • prioritisation of investments reflecting the region’s needs
  • use of the SPI as a comparative/benchmarking tool for the performance of the regions